If you are riding a motorcycle in Kansas, it is important to be familiar with Kansas motorcycle laws. These include laws about licensing and safety equipment, as well as rules about what you can and cannot do while riding a motorcycle.
A class M driver's license or a learner's permit is required to ride a motorcycle in Kansas. There used to be a loophole where people who bought a motorcycle were exempt from this requirement for the first 60 days of ownership. However, as of July 2019, this loophole has been eliminated.
You also need a class M license or a learner’s permit to ride a moped. But as an alternative, you can also get a moped operator's license. This requires a vision test and a written exam.
In Kansas, only riders and passengers under 18 are required to wear approved motorcycle helmets. This is different from two of its neighboring states, Missouri and Nebraska, where everyone must wear a helmet while riding. So if you plan to cross state lines, you should be prepared to wear a helmet.
However, even if you're over 18 and just ride in Kansas, it's a good idea to wear a helmet. If you should get injured in a crash, the fact that you were not wearing one could be seen as negligent. And since Kansas has a "comparative fault" rule, it could reduce the compensation you might receive. In Kansas if a jury finds you 50% at-fault you will not recover a thing. This differs from Missouri, which is a pure comparative fault state that means even if you’re 90% at fault, you can still recover 10% of the total damages.
Motorcycle Safety Equipment
All motorcycle riders are required to wear eye protection if their windscreen does not extend at least ten inches above the center of the handlebars. Such protection can consist of shatterproof glasses, goggles, or transparent face shields. Passengers under 18 must always wear shatterproof glasses, goggles, or transparent face shields.
In addition, motorcycles as well as mopeds must have at least one headlight, taillight, a brake light, a horn, and turn signal lights. They also must have a registration plate light, a red rear reflector, and a rear stop lamp. Some exemptions exist for motorcycles made before 1973.
All motorcycles, mopeds, or motorized bicycles manufactured after 1978 must also display lighted headlights and taillights whenever they are operated.
Motorcycle Riding With Passengers Rules
In order to allow for a passenger, the motorcycle must either have a seat for two people or a separate seat for the passenger. Footrests must also be in place for the passenger. There are no restrictions on the age of the passenger.
Lane Splitting & Lane Sharing
Lane splitting is prohibited in Kansas. But two motorcycles may share a lane by riding next to each other.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
In Kansas, you must have the following insurance coverage:
- $25,000 – Bodily Injury for one person
- $50,000 – Bodily Injury for all persons
- $10,000 – Property Damage
- Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Ask your insurance salesperson about how much insurance you should get to meet your needs.
Injured in a Kansas Motorcycle Accident? We Can Help!
Foster Wallace, LLC takes all personal injury cases on a contingency fee basis, allowing victims and family members throughout the Kansas City metropolitan area to get the legal help they need without adding to their financial burden. If you or someone you love was injured in a crash, call our office today or fill out our online contact form to set up your free initial consultation.