A number of laws in Missouri regulate what is and what is not permitted when riding motorcycles. These include licensing, what to wear, and what equipment your motorcycle needs. Missouri Motorcycle laws also specify who may ride on a motorcycle.
Class M Motorcycle License
First, you need a class M motorcycle license to ride a motorcycle legally. Alternatively, you can also use a driver's license with the M endorsement.
There are additional rules for younger riders. At 15 and a half, a younger motorcycle driver may apply for a temporary instruction permit. These have some restrictions, which include that no passengers are permitted, and that riding is permitted during daylight hours only.
Motorcycle Safety Gear Requirements
Everyone who rides a motorcycle must wear a protective helmet. Shatterproof face protection is also required by Missouri law. This could be a face shield or strong protective goggles.
While there are no official requirements for protective clothing, leather clothing, including a jacket and pants, would be a wise choice.
Motorcycles must be in good working order, and that includes wheels, brakes, tires, and exhaust system. The headlight as well as the taillight must also be in proper working order. This also applies to turn signals, if the motorcycle has them. While signaling is required in Missouri, hand signals can be used. Turn signals are not explicitly required.
Motorcycle Riding Rules
One passenger per motorcycle is permitted. That passenger will need his or her own seat as well as footrests. While there is no minimum age for passengers, use commonsense. Small children are not safe on the back (or anywhere) on a motorcycle. Sandwiching a small child between two adults is not permitted.
Lane Sharing VS. Lane Splitting
Lane sharing means that two motorcycles ride next to each other in one lane. Often, they actually ride in a staggered position.
Lane splitting, on the other hand, means that a motorcyclist rides in between two lanes of traffic that travel in the same direction. They're essentially using the white middle line. This is not officially prohibited in Missouri, but it is also not explicitly allowed, and it can cause problems with getting fair treatment if an accident should occur.
In Missouri you must have:
- $25,000 – Bodily Injury for one person
- $50,000 – Bodily Injury for all persons
- $10,000 – Property Damage
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UIM)
Talk to your insurance salesperson about what exactly is covered and how much coverage you should get.
Injured in a Missouri Motorcycle Accident? We Can Help!
Foster Wallace, LLC takes all personal injury cases on a contingency fee basis, allowing victims and family members throughout the Kansas City metropolitan area to get the legal help they need without adding to their financial burden. If you or someone you love was injured in a crash, call our office today or fill out our online contact form to set up your free initial consultation.